Age Ain’t Nothin’ But A Number

Funny how you obsess over things, like getting old.

I turned 59 on September 16 and for some reason that meant something to me – don’t know why.  Sure, I’m getting older, but it beats my other option.  I really need to get over it and get on with my life, celebrating where I am and how I got here.  It’s been good so far and it really just gets better.

Still, it’s on my mind for whatever reason and a poll on Janice Pearson’s blog on the Average Age of Bloggers Covering Ag And Farm Topics – posted on my birthday – just complicated matters.  You see the average age is 20 – 30 at 35.23%, while my somewhat more mature demographic represented 13.64%.  Appears that being eligible for a senior coffee at McDonald’s makes one less likely to be a blogger.  According to the stats, next year I drop of the curve completely!

While it may be a young person’s game, I still plan to keep sharing my observations and trying to lessen the Urban-Rural divide.   The really good news, however, is that those 20-30 year olds are really sharp.  I’ve been featuring the likes of Celeste Laurent, Kelly Rivard, and Ryan Goodman on my radio show this month and they’re an impressive bunch. (They say “yes sir” to me a lot, which speaks well of their parents who obviously taught them to respect their elders!)  These guys understand the issues and embrace the technology that affords them the opportunity to reach a large, diverse audience.  I don’t think I had it together that well when I was their age!

Trading tweets and exchanging Facebook posts with this terrific group of young folks helps me feel a little younger and, hey, you’re only as old as you feel.

BTW, thanks for all the well wishes on my birthday.  A bunch of my electronic acquaintances took a minute or so post a heartfelt greeting or a good natured dig and I appreciate them all more than I can express.  God bless you all!

About raybowman

church of Christ elder, farmer, grandad, agriculture writer and broadcaster

Posted on September 20, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I fully agree with you, Mr Ray Bowman. Age between 50 and 60 is a very nice to be columnist. And contacts with younger people keeps you young in mind.

Leave a comment