My New Year’s Revelation

DSC_1718 (2).JPGI’ve never been much on making resolutions. Mainly because I’ve never been much on KEEPING resolutions.

So, as I was pondering the fate of this humble epistle – whether to get rid of my blog or get serious about it – I was struck by an epiphany. “I’m a writer. And, writers write.”

It’s a matter of discipline and that’s something that I’ve struggled with for most of my 65 years. Sitting down at the keyboard on a regular basis to hammer out a bunch of words doesn’t come easy. It usually takes some motivation (like paying the bills) to make me stay still long enough to write anything remotely readable or relatable, yet thoughts continue to course through my mind that I would like to share but just don’t, sometimes out of sheer contrariness.

So, starting now… starting today, the second day of 2017… it is my intention to take the time on a regular basis to open my mind and spill my thoughts into a format that you, dear reader, may come to expect and (I dare to hope) enjoy.

The title of this blog being what it is, you can expect the bulk of my musings to trend in an agricultural direction. Yet, that’s somewhat more limiting than I care to confine myself to, so don’t be surprised if there are occasional references to my faith. My relationship with my Heavenly Father is the most important thing in my life so it naturally influences everything I do. At least, it should. If you find that offensive, consider yourself forwarned. You might, perhaps, consider me intolerant for saying so but there are plenty of other blogs out there that shy away from matters of faith, so it’s not necessary for you to lecture me about how your beliefs don’t mesh with mine. Please be respectful.

Second to that would be family. I promise not to inundate you with cute stories and photos about my wife, my kids, my grandkids and my great-grandkid. That’s what Facebook is for. However, occasionally personal anecdotes might creep in. I’ll try to keep them amusing and entertaining.

Farming is the glue that holds this all together. It affords me the lifestyle I enjoy and, in that, it serves a most useful purpose. I’m not an outstanding farmer and that fact might frequently make itself evident. However, many of my friends across this great nation are exemplary agrarians and it’s more often their story that will be told here than mine.

Faith, family and farming. Maybe it’s a bit of a cliché to some, but to me it is the essence of who I am and what I do. That’s what I hope you will see filling this space with regularity in the future.

May God richly bless you throughout the coming year. Thanks for being my friends.

About raybowman

church of Christ elder, farmer, grandad, agriculture writer and broadcaster

Posted on January 2, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

