So God Made A Farmer

I didn’t watch the Superbowl.

No, I’m not un-American.  I like football, I just didn’t really care for either the Ravens or the 49ers.  Forgive me for saying I couldn’t care less if Beyonce’ reunites with Destiny’s Child.  I don’t even have television.  Cable doesn’t come out this far and I got tired of paying for hundreds of satellite channels that seldom aired anything worth watching.

But, I do love farmers.  When Facebook and Twitter started erupting with accolades for the Ram truck commercial, I did a quick internet search and watched the video. As I noted on social media, I’m a Ford guy but Dodge scored some serious points with that ad.

Being a reporter and a broadcaster with a rather conservative point of view, I’ve always loved Paul Harvey, even though we occasionally disagreed. The basis of the Dodge ad was his 1978 speech to the national convention of the Future Farmers of America, an address that never fails to bring a tear to my eye.

Chrysler Motors has pledged a dollar to FFA for every internet view of the spot.

The commercial is subliminally salted with heroic photos of Dodge Ram trucks and CaseIH tractors (both owned by the Italian firm Fiat.)  To those who have an issue with that, get over it. Someone dropped a packet of cash to buy two minutes of Superbowl airtime and they deserve to reap some benefit – even though there are curmudgeons like me who will applaud their work, but still buy from a competitor who produces a more desirable product.  It’s called fair trade.

Many liberal voices are rising to decry the spot as commercial pandering and emotional manipulation.  Just keep in mind that many of those same voices have never shied away from using images of abused puppies and kittens to solicit money to build their war chest and line their own pockets without committing any real resources to the plight of those creatures they exploit.

It’s a feel-good spot.  Not that it should puff farmers and ranchers up with a new-found sense of self-importance, but it may help bolster the image of agriculture in the eyes of many consumers who see this as reinforcement for what they already believe – honest, hard-working, God-fearing people put in long, difficult hours for a lifestyle they believe in that also, by the way, helps put food on their table, clothes on their back and a roof over their head.

For the Greek chorus of environmental zealots, animal rights activists and other anti-agriculture forces it won’t matter anyway.  As they keep saying on the interweb, “haters gonna hate.”

About raybowman

church of Christ elder, farmer, grandad, agriculture writer and broadcaster

Posted on February 4, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. “Forgive me for saying I could care less if Beyonce’ reunites with Destiny’s Child.”
    This means you do care. Which one is it? Do you care some or not at all?

    And no need to ask for forgiveness; Beyonce and Destiny’s Child are just dreadful.

  2. You didn’t watch the Super Bowl?! lol. Great post and yes, Ray, haters gonna hate. It’s the cardinal rule of blogging and politics and advertising…

  3. “Many liberal voices are rising to decry the spot ……………”

    What “voices” would that be ? I thought this was about Farmers,…not Politics or Religion. I live in a rural Farm community and I can say there are just as many “Liberal” Farmers as there are “Conservative” Farmers. They are also from many Religious backgrounds. Quit trying to stir the “political pot” or play the “Religion” card. People are people all over this country. That type of proselytizing is exactly what drives people further apart.

    Yes,…Farmers need to be recognized and not forgotten,…NO,…we don’t need to Politicize it or make it an “us versus them” war. BTW,..Beyonce was awesome,….deal with it.

    • John, Taste is subjective. Therefore, Beyonce wasn’t awesome; which is really easy to deal with it. I’m sure you can’t though. Did you see her flash the Illuminati sign? Of course you didn’t.

      • It must be very trying to have to see conspiracies and “signs” in everything others do. I guess that comes from not being able to acknowledge that others have as much right to have their beliefs as you do. It doesn’t make theirs or yours “right” or wrong,…it just means they have the RIGHT to have them. I doubt you would agree with that,….in fact,…I’m sure you don’t. Narrow minds seldom agree with anything but their own delusions. I saw an entertaining performance,…not my preferred genre,…but entertaining non the less,…regardless of any “signs” you imagined. BTW,…she and her family are devout Christians,…so perhaps you need that prescription changed, eh .

      • No, it’s not trying. I don’t even try and wouldn’t have noticed it had not the media picked up on it. Whether it’s legit or not, it’s fun to contemplate. And where did I say people don’t have a right to believe what they want? You must understand, everyone can’t be right, so why can’t some one be right? The (faulty) general consensus is, “It’s true because I believe it.” Whereas, a thinking person would correctly posit, “I believe it because it’s true.” Beyonce’s a devout Christian? To you that means, she believes there is a God. To anyone who understands Orthodoxy, I’d bet the farm she adheres not to the tenets of the historic Christian faith.

        Her recent videos are self-centered, ego-centric, about money and sex, and have a lot of negative overtones. There’s also a lot of occultic symbolism in her videos especially since she’s been with Jay-Z. Her song Best Thing I Ever Had includes profanity, Naughty Girl is exactly how it sounds, and she is half-naked on some of her albums.

        Apparently that’s how YOU define Christianity. (classy!)

      • Since the “reply” button seems to have been disabled below,…I’ll post this here. Obviously Matt thinks his version of Christianity is the only valid one. Whether someone “believes” or not is hardly a raging concern of mine. I’ll leave that to a higher pay grade. Religious beliefs are very personal and rightly so. We do have “Freedom of Religion” in this country. That means that there is no one “right” Religion as far as this Country is concerned.

        Just because someone’s “version” of Christianity is not the same as Matt’s does not make it any less valid a belief. That being said,…Matt’s seems to feel a need to “judge” everyone based on his beliefs.

        BTW Matt,…in case you haven’t realized it,…the Media is always looking for something to make themselves seem more important or to “stir the pot” for ratings. That translates to $$$$ for them. It’s people like you that feed their frenzy.

        Sad Matt,…very sad.

        “conspiracies” and “signs”,…bwahahahahahahahahaha

  4. Seriously? Liberal voices against farmers? Would that be liberals like John Mellencamp and Willie Nelson? I don’t know of a single liberal who is against the small American farmer. I guess if haters gonna hate, then idiots gonna troll.

    • Would that be in talk or action? How many farmers do each support for their food? Or do they buy at the store and restaurants like most Americans? 🙂 I missed their farm share application – dang it!

    • Rich, currently PETA (hardly a conservative voice) is campaigning on the “evils” of shearing sheep by the “evil” farmers, of all things. Perhaps, PETA wants wool to be grown on trees?

  5. “Many liberal voices are rising to decry the spot as commercial pandering and emotional manipulation.”

    Clearly, you’ve not taken the time to engage any liberal opinions about this spot. It was beautiful and moving.

    “Just keep in mind that many of those same voices have never shied away from using images of abused puppies and kittens to solicit money to build their war chest and line their own pockets without committing any real resources to the plight of those creatures they exploit”

    Hilarious given the conservatives that want to force women to have children under any circumstance, but complain about having to pay any taxes to help feed them.

  6. A nice, surprising tribute to our job. Have a great day at work tomorrow!

  7. Now, Ray. I’m a bleeding heart liberal and card-carrying member of the ACLU, and that ad moved me to tears. Don’t let the loud taint the reputation of the many.

    • Another proud liberal–who LOVED the Ad. Not sure who those voices were, but my guess is they don’t represent ALL liberals! I loved it–a well deserved tribute to the American farmer.

  8. Yet another reply to John: No, I don’t think my version of Christianity is the only valid one. I share this same “version” with the historic, orthodox church so it’s not “my version”. As I proved earlier, your definition of a “devout Christian” is someone has videos that are self-centered, ego-centric, about money and sex, and have a lot of negative overtones. There’s also a lot of occultic symbolism in her videos especially since she’s been with Jay-Z. Her song Best Thing I Ever Had includes profanity, Naughty Girl is exactly how it sounds, and she is half-naked on some of her albums. Therefore you haven’t a clue as to what Christianity really is. In your mind, you can call Satan a Christian, because well, he said he is so that’s good enough for me.

    You fail to understand the dichotomy between subjective and objective. Where am I “judging everyone”? You seem to be a master at Isogesis which is why you can’t understand what I’m saying nor can you understand how someone can be sincere but sincerely wrong. Can I call myself a Muslim if I don’t believe Muhammad is Allah’s prophet? No I can’t.

    You’re also self-refuting as you judge me for judging.

    The media doesn’t need me. I mock the media and see the inconsistency, lies, half-truths, etc, whereas you look to it for guidance. And THAT’S very very sad.

    • “Proved” ? You’ve proven nothing except that you have a very narrow minded viewpoint on certain topics. As for people calling themselves things they are not,..I think you’ve done that also. People like you always read into or see what they want to see in things. That’s why you see conspiracy and “signs” everywhere. Pointing out your flawed reasoning is not judging. I really care nothing about what you believe. I merely pointed out why no one will believe your nonsense. What you are practicing is actually Eisegesis. It is the method of pouring meaning into what your see and hear. Strictly literal interpretation and using an eisegesis method of interpretation is bad . It does not convey the intent of the author. If used to interpret ancient texts,…It also does not allow for the fact that time changes meanings of words and things are often interpreted in light of the prevailing viewpoint of the time and social norms. For example, someone from 2000 years ago would interpret a plane flying over as “magical”,…or a “monster”,…depending on the social norms of the period. They are incapable of anything else because they have no way to understand what that plane really is.

      You mock what you don’t understand and what threatens your “viewpoint”. You also “assume” that I am being “guided” by the media. Wrong ! I don’t watch Fox News , Limbaugh, Beck or AFA, CBN or FRC. I’ll bet you do . If you think Religion has not used these same tactics of “half truths” and lies,….you are the one who is being “guided”.

  1. Pingback: Dodge RAM pays Super Bowl tribute with “So God made a Farmer” | Agriculture Proud

  2. Pingback: So God Made A Farmer: Super Bowl Commercial History And Controversy

  3. Pingback: Emotion Catches Attention & Gives Reason to Share a Message: Social Media Told Ag’s Story on Super Bowl Sunday | The Field Position

  4. Pingback: CNN Eatocracy: How has farming changed since 1978 and “So God Made a Farmer”? | Agriculture Proud

Leave a comment